Author: ADMIN

BEC Committee Deliberations Day 2

Day 2 of BEC Committee Deliberations

The Bangsamoro Parliament’s Rules Committee has started deliberating the proposed electoral code, a measure that would create an electoral framework responsive to the needs of the Bangsamoro people.

On Saturday, February 4, the committee discussed for nearly nine hours Articles I through V of BTA Bill No. 29. These articles cover the bill’s introduction, the establishment of an electoral office and its bureaus, the creation of an electoral tribunal, and the frameworks of political parties.

Floor Leader and COR Chair Atty. Sha Elijah Dumama-Alba said that the committee aims to finish its work by February 10 and submit its report when Parliament resumes session in the third week of the month.

She said that the committee is thoroughly discussing the position papers, recommendations, and sentiments of all the various experts and stakeholders.

The electoral code is one of the priority measures that the Parliament must pass during the transition period. It will outline the structural, functional, and procedural principles governing the region’s officer election.

Under the proposed measure, the Parliament will be composed of 80 members: 50% will be party representatives, 40% will be district representatives, and the remaining 10% will be reserved seats and sectoral representatives. (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)


BEC Committee Deliberations Day 1

Day 1 BEC Committee Deliberations

Following a series of public consultations, the proposed Bangsamoro Electoral Code is now up for committee deliberations.

The Committee on Rules, chaired by Atty. Sha Elijah Dumama-Alba, started discussions on BTA Bill No. 29 with a briefing on the consolidated matrix of position papers.

The committee held 12 public consultations in Manila, Cotabato City, Maguindanao del Norte, Maguindanao del Sur, Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, and the BARMM Special Geographic Area.

They received position papers from national offices, local government unit officials, civil society organizations, election watchdogs, academe, religious sector representatives, indigenous people, women, youth groups, and other stakeholders.

Atty. Dumama-Alba said that the consolidated positions will be carefully reviewed by the committee before submitting it to the plenary in February.

The proposed electoral code will outline the structural, functional, and procedural principles governing the election of officers in the Bangsamoro region (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)


PAMANA Photo Essay Writing Contest

We are glad to announce the winners for the PAMANA Photo Essay Writing Contes


For the JHS & SHC Category:
1st place – Jannah Amirah Abdulkarim
2nd place – Somaiya Padilla
3rd place – Alyanna Fatmah Barapantao

Tertiary Category:
1st place – Abel Omar
2nd Place – John Peps Dales
3rd Place – Datumama Tutin

Public Category:
1st Place: Almirah Acraman
2nd Place: Abdurasul Wahiddan, Jr.
3rd Place: Fayruzah Absary

Special Prize: Omira S. Abdulbasit

We will send you a messgae through email on how to claim your prize. Congratulations and thank you to all our entrants for the overwhelming response. We have received a total of 186 entries for all categories in the span of four days.


BTA holds public consulation on Lanao del Sur for proposed BEC

LANAO DEL SUR | The Bangsamoro Parliament’s Rules Committee held the last leg of its consultations for the proposed Bangsamoro Electoral Code, gathering the legislative input of stakeholders from Lanao del Sur.

Provincial, city, municipal, and barangay local government units, as well as election experts, academic institutions, religious sectors, and civil society organizations from the province, participated in the sixth and final round of public consultation.

The constitutionality, party district representatives, registration of political parties, representation of women, youth, and the religious sector in the proposed code were among the concerns raised by the stakeholders in Lanao del Sur.

Deputy Speaker Atty. Paisalin Tago assured that all of the input from the series of consultations will be thoroughly addressed during the committee deliberations.

The Parliament Bill No. 29, or the Bangsamoro Electoral Code, is a key measure that will prescribe the structural, functional, and procedural principles governing the holding of elections for officers in the region.

The public consultations led by the Rules Committee have already consulted stakeholders and experts from Manila, Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Maguindanao, Cotabato City, and the BARMM Special Geographic Area. (LTAIS-Public Information, Publication, and Media Relations Division)


District Office ni MP Rasol Y. Mitmug Jr.

𝐍𝐚𝐤𝐚𝐛𝐢𝐬𝐢𝐭𝐚 𝐤𝐚 𝐧𝐚 𝐛𝐚 𝐬𝐚 𝐛𝐚𝐠𝐨𝐧𝐠 𝐃𝐢𝐬𝐭𝐫𝐢𝐜𝐭 𝐎𝐟𝐟𝐢𝐜𝐞 𝐧𝐢 𝐌𝐏 𝐑𝐚𝐬𝐨𝐥 𝐘. 𝐌𝐢𝐭𝐦𝐮𝐠, 𝐉𝐫.? Don’t forget to drop by for some kape sessions, quiet study time, or kahit makinig lang sa live sessions ng Bangsamoro Transition Authority. Nabanggit na rin ba namin na meron din kaming WiFi at FREE conference room (subject to reservation/schedule)? See you!

OFFICE HOURS: Monday to Friday, 8am to 5pm, G/F of VIP Lounge, Right Wing Dimaporo Gymnasium, MSU Marawi