Category: Lanao del Sur

BTA Parliament extends rice assistance to Lanao constituents

COTABATO CITY — Members of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) Parliament in the province of Lanao del Sur has started the distribution of rice assistance from the Office of the Chief Minister to its needy constituents affected by the Coronavirus disease (Covid-19) global pandemic crisis.

Member of the Parliament (MP) Marjanie Macasalong led the Ranao Region team (Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur) together with other 21 BTA members, Deputy Chief Minister Ali B. Solaiman, Mohammad Zainoden P. Bato, Said M. Shiek, Dr. Safrullah M. Dipatuan, Basit S. Abbas (Commander Jannati), Abdullah G. Macapaar (Commander Bravo), Marjanie S. Macasalong, Punduma B. Sani, Musa K. Diamla, Jamel D. Macaraya, Modayao M. Sacar, Sultan Edrieza Nasser H. Rimbang, Paisalin P. Tago, Nabila Margarita P. Pangandaman, Atty. Maisara C. Damdamun-Latiph, Atty. Hamid Aminoddin Barra, Atty. Anna Tarhata S. Basman, Rasul Mitmug Jr., Ziaur Rahman A. Adiong, Diamila D. Ramos and Speaker Ali Pangalian M. Balindong.

Deputy Chief Minister Ali B. Solaiman (4th from right) is joined by Members of the Parliament Marjanie Macasalong (1st from left) and Mohammad Zainoden P. Bato (3rd from right) in one of the relief operations conducted by the Ranao Region team. (Photo courtesy of the Office of MP Marjanie Macasalong)

At present, Macasalong said they were able to serve nineteen (19) towns from both Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur provinces.

“We are giving 10 kilos of rice per family,” Macasalong said.

To date, the breakdown of rice assistance given per household in different municipalities are as follows: Marawi City – 5,000; Marantao – 2,000; Maguing – 300, Malabang – 500; Kapatagan – 100, Taraka – 2000, Ditsaan-Ramain – 200; Bubong – 1000, Balindong – 800; Poona Bayabao – 500, Masiu – 2000; Balabagan 200; Lumbayanague – 1500, Lumba Bayabao – 500, Piyagapo – 1000; Balo-i – 1500; Bayang – 300; Sultan Dumalundong 800 and Butig – 1000.

Macasalong stressed that the team is now on their third wave of relief distribution.

“Our time frame to finish with the distribution in the whole province would be at least by the end of July 2020,” Macasalong said.

Further, Macasalong shared the positive feedbacks of the different local government units from the two provinces.

“The local governments here were very grateful of our efforts and we would also like to thank them in return for appreciating all our hard works. To our populace, we have tried and did our best to maximize our resources both goods and manpower to provide for every member of Bangsamoro within our reach. Let us help one another get through this crisis and together, InshaAllah, we shall rise against this pandemic,” Macasalong emphasized.

RICE DISTRIBUTION — A barangay official from Chinatown in Malabang directly handed over a relief pack to a father during random relief distribution. In behalf of Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA) Parliament Speaker Ali Pangalian M. Balindong, Liga Ng Mga Barangay President and Barangay Bacayawan Chair Norodin B. Marohom led the recent relief operations to at least 27 barangays. (Photo courtesy of Brgy. Chinatown, Malabang)

In a separate event, Speaker Balindong has also extended rice assistance to at least 3,000 households in the town of Malabang.

Balindong said a total of three hundred (300) sacks of rice were subdivided to at least twenty-seven (27) barangays of Malabang thru Liga Ng Mga Barangay President and Barangay Bacayawan Chair Norodin B. Marohom.

These are the barangays of Curahab, Banday, Chinatown, Campo Muslim, Bunkhouse, Pasir, Matling Airport, Mananayo, Pialot, Mable, Tambara, Jose Abad Santos, Sembagarogong, Montay, Tacub, Tiongcop, Calibagat, Macaurandig, Inandayan, Matampay, Masao, Calumbog, Cabasaran, Badak Lumao, BPS Village, Boniga and Bacayawan.

In an earlier statement, Ebrahim said the rice distribution is on top of the ongoing initiatives of the Bangsamoro Government to address the needs of the populace during this crisis.

“It will be distributed to the affected residents of BARMM, especially those who reside in the far-flung areas and provinces each of the (BTA members) represent,” Ebrahim said. (GALao, BTA Parliament)

*Originally published by the BTA-Publication and Media Relations Division (

Duterte names ex-ARMM official, youth activist as Bangsamoro gov’t members

MANILA, Philippines – President Rodrigo Duterte has appointed two more members of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA), bringing its composition to 78 members out of the 80 required by the Bangsamoro Organic Law.

Rasol Mitmug Jr, former chief of staff of former Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) governor Mujiv Hataman, was appointed on September 6, according to appointment papers obtained by Rappler. 

This was confirmed by the Malacañang Records Office on Friday, September 13.

Mitmug had also been Department of Education–ARMM secretary.

Diamila “Jam” Disimban Ramos was also appointed BTA member. Ramos is a Maranao youth activist. Her appointment papers were signed on August 13, according to the Malacañang Records Office.

With her appointment, the female BTA members now number 13 out of 78.

Ramos and Mitmug are appointees of the national government. The Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF), the former rebel group that championed the BOL, had already named all their appointees but has to appoint one more to replace lawyer Abdul Dataya who passed away in July.

Malacañang is yet to release the appointment paper of Dataya’s replacement. –

*Originally published on Rappler (