Category: Members of Parliament

Mitmug, Mawallil propose “zipper rule” in nominations

Mitmug is proposing a “zipper rule” in nominations

“Parties should nominate men and women in an alternating sequence. If your first nominee is a man, then the second nominee should be a woman, and so on and so forth. This way, we can achieve an almost equal number of men and women in Parliament, as envisioned by the [Bangsamoro Organic Law],” Mitmug stated.

Mitmug believes that female representation should also be extended to political party committees, not just nominees.

“If we were to truly have effective women’s representation in the Bangsamoro Government, it should start in the political party committees, deeply ingrained in the machinery of where leadership training really begins,” Mitmug said.

photo credits MP Amir Mawallil

FULL STORY:…/barmm-lawmakers-aim-to…/amp…


Mitmug speaks at Ateneo forum

The Ateneo School of Government (ASoG), through its Ateneo Bangsamoro Initiative program, conducted two forums entitled BARMM Participate Talks: A Forum on the Extension of the BARMM Transition in Cotabato City and Zamboanga City on November 19 and November 25, 2022 respectively.

The forums gathered select members of the BARMM Participate network and representatives of different sectors coming from Cotabato City, Maguindanao del Sur, Maguindanao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, and Zamboanga City.

Ateneo School of Government

December 6 2022

Re-appointed Members of the Parliament Atty. Rasul Mitmug, Jr., Engr. Don Mustapha Loong, and Mr. Amilbahar Mawalil served as the guest speakers which provided discussions on the Updates on the BARMM Electoral Code and the 2025 BARMM Parliamentary Elections; and on reinforcing the role of the different stakeholders in the BARMM transition.

Atty Rasul Mitmug and Engr Don Mustapha Loong discussed the salient points of the proposed Bill No. 29 (or the Bangsamoro Electoral Code of 2022) and the preparation for the 2025 BARMM Parliamentary elections while Mr. Amilbahar Mawalil emphasized the need and importance for stronger stakeholder participation in the ongoing transition process.

Both events also featured a scoping session where participants identified research, training and capacity building, and other opportunities to aid ASOG in realigning its plans in BARMM for the next few years.

The forums are part of the activities under the Ateneo Policy Center’s PARTICIPATE Project – a non-partisan, pro-democracy coalition dedicated to engage and empower the political participation of the Filipino people.…/asog-conducts-forums-barmm-transition-2025-par…

Town hall meeting sa Binidayan, Lanao del Sur

Naging makabuluhan ang isinagawang town hall meeting info drive sa Binidayan, Lanao del Sur.
Dumalo sa nasabing aktibidad ang iba’t ibang sector gaya ng mga Ustadz, manggagawa, kabataan, environmentalists, mga kinatawan ng mga organisasyon sa nasabing lugar, at marami pang iba pa.

Mahalagang tinalakay ang kanilang mga personal na karanasan sa BARMM Government sa nakalipas na tatlong taon, ang kanilang mga inaasahan sa extended termino ng pamahalaang Bangsamoro at ang mga nais nilang maisabatas sa tulong ng mga kasalukuyang miyembro ng Bangsamoro Transition Authority.
Nabigyang-diin ang paghahanap ng solusyon sa patuloy na pagtaas ng unemployment rate at hiniling na may sapat na mga tuntunin sa oportunidad sa mga trabaho o transparency ng hiring process sa mga ahensya ng BARMM.

Naging oportunidad naman ito para maiparating ang kanilang ninanais na magkaroon ng sapat na suporta sa mga madrasah at sa mga pasilidad nito. Gayunpaman, nais nilang makamtan ang mga naipangako ng mga kinauungkulan sa BARMM.

Nagpapasalamat ang mga mamayan ng Binidayan sa inisiyatiba ng Opisina ni MP Atty. Rasol Y. Mitmug Jr. upang alamin ang mga suliranin at iba pang isyu ng mga nasa laylayan.

Commending the Office of the Deputy Chief Minister Ali B. Solaiman for his dedication to the Bangsamoro through its steadfast information drive program to further awareness about the regional government’s services

The Bangsamoro government is dedicated to providing services to alleviate the lives of the populace during this era of transition. The extension of transition reflects the shared ambition of the Bangsamoro people to establish a functional and responsive regional administration that can handle our long-standing problems and ensure better future ahead of them.
Section 8 of Article IX of RA 11054 states that “the Bangsamoro Government shall provide, maintain, and ensure the delivery of basic and responsive health programs, quality education, appropriate services, livelihood opportunities, affordable and progressive housing projects, power and electricity, and water inhabitants of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region. It shall maintain appropriate disaster-preparedness units for immediate and effective relief services to victims of natural and man-made calamities. It shall also ensure the rehabilitation of calamity-affected areas and victims of calamities.”
In line with this, the Office of the Deputy Chief Minister (DCM) Ali B. Solaiman is being commended for his valuable initiative in carrying out a series of information drive about the five (5) Flagship Programs of the Office of the Chief Minister-BARMM (OCM), namely: (a) Tulong Alay sa Bangsamorong Nangangailangan (TABANG); (b) Ayudang Medical mula sa Bangsamoro Government (AMBaG); (c) Kapayapaan sa Pamayanan (KAPYAAN); (d) Bangsamoro READi; and (e) BARMM Marawi Rehabilitation Program (MRP), including the BTA functions and priorities, in 17 Municipalities of Lanao del Sur namely Taraka, Tamparan,Masiu, Poona Bayabao, Lumba Bayabao, Maguing, Mulondo, Buadiposo-Buntong, Wao, Amai Manabilang, Bubong, Ditsaan-Ramain, Kapai, Tagoloan II, Saguiran, Piagapo and Marantao. The program was conducted in 17 municipalities in Lanao del Sur, including Taraka, Tamparan, Masiu, Poona Bayabao, Lumba Bayabao, Maguing, Mulondo, Buadiposo-Buntong, Wao, Amai Manabilang, Bubong, Ditsaan-Ramain, Kapai, Tagoloan II, Saguiran, Piagapo, and Marantao. Said program took place over five days on September 21, 22, 26, 27, and 28, 2022.
It is good to note that the justifiable extension of the BARMM’s transition period has allowed the BTA flexibility and sufficient time to accomplish its governance objectives. As such, it is opportune that the initiatives of the DCM caters to assist the constituency in understanding BARMM services through their local government units. The Office of the DCM is indeed keeping its commitment to the general population by bringing the government closer to the people. The mayors of those aforementioned municipalities has expressed their profound appreciation to this kind of initiative.
When the Bangsamoro Government was inaugurated in 2019, it signaled a new era of governance for the region: that with the oathtaking of new leadership, it represented a hope born out of the recognition of the Bangsamoro struggle, the transition to another kind of government would also be a transition to a Bangsamoro government that better represented its people and their needs. As public officials and members of the interim Bangsamoro Parliament, our brand of leadership will be the legacy we leave to the next Bangsamoro leaders.
The details of the series of information drive of DCM can be found and accessed on his official facebook page